Contact Contributor David J. Bruno of the Bianchi Law Group, LLC, New Jersey Improper Crossing of a Bridge Defense Attorney
David J. Bruno is a contributor at New Jersey Esq, Former Assistant Prosecutor, and Partner at the Bianchi Law Group in West Caldwell, New Jersey. His partner, Robert A. Bianchi, is the Former Head Morris County Prosecutor from 2006 -2013. Both David Bruno and Robert Bianchi are certified by the New Jersey Supreme Court as criminal trial attorneys.
Contact David Bruno and the Bianchi Law Group at 862-210-8570 for your New Jersey Improper Crossing of a Bridge case. The Bianchi Law Group’s office is located at 4 York Ave, 2nd Floor, West Caldwell, New Jersey 07006.
Improper Crossing of a Bridge (N.J.S.A. 39:4-127.2)
N.J.S.A. 39:4-127.2 of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Statutes is contained in Title 39- Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws, Chapter 3- Motor Vehicles and Article 14- Turns, Hand Signals, Starting and Stopping, 39:4-127.2. Movable span bridges.
The law: N.J.S.A. 39:4-127.2
The New Jersey law which prohibits Improper Crossing of a Bridge provides:
“No person shall drive any vehicle through, around, or under any gate or barrier at or on the approaches to a movable span bridge while such gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed, nor shall any person drive any vehicle in disobedience to the directions of a traffic control signal or sign, police officer or duly authorized bridge tender, flagman or gateman, located at or in advance of said bridge.”
Fines and Penalties
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to an Improper Crossing of a Bridge in New Jersey, the Court has the discretion to imprison you up to 15 days in jail (39:4-203). Additionally, the Court must fine you anywhere from $50 to $200 (39:4-203), court costs up to $33 (N.J.S.A. 22A:3-4) and a $6 assessment (N.J.S.A. 39:5-41).
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Points
Improper Crossing of a Bridge- N.J.S.A. 39:4-127.2 is a violation listed in the N.J.S.A. Point Schedule and the Motor Vehicle Commission will add 2 points to your New Jersey Driving record if convicted.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will suspend a person’s New Jersey driver’s license any time a driver accumulates 12 or more points. The length of the suspension will depend on the Motor Vehicle Point Accumulation chart. Additionally, the Court or the Motor Vehicle Commission may suspend your New Jersey driver’s license if it is found that you committed this violation “willfully” (N.J.S.A. 39:5-31).
New Jersey Insurance Premiums
In addition, if you hold an New Jersey automotive insurance policy, your automobile insurance company will add 2 points to your “insurance eligibility points”, pursuant to N.J.S.A 11:3-34.5 and Appendix A. You’ll need to pay higher insurance premiums as you gain “insurance eligibility points” . If you get 7 or more “insurance eligibility points” points, you will not be able to obtain automobile insurance on the voluntary market. Instead, you’ll have to pay more to get at-risk coverage through the New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan (NJPAIP).
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Surcharges
Surcharges are fines assessed by Motor Vehicle Commission (in addition to everything else) on an annual basis for drivers who have earned excessive points or committed a specific violations. This is not one of those specific violations, however, if you accumulate 6 or more points within a three years from our last violation, you will receive a $150 surcharge plus $25 for each additional point. If you do not pay your New Jersey surcharges, the Motor Vehicle Commission will suspend your driving privileges indefinitely, take action to secure a lien against your property, garnish your wages or other similar actions until the surcharge is paid.
Commercial Driver License
A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) is at risk if a holder is convicted of any New Jersey Motor Vehicle violation, even those involving non-commercial motor vehicles.
Other New Jersey Motor Vehicle Point Violations
- 39:3–20- Operating constructor vehicle in excess of 45 mph
- 39:4–14.3- Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway
- 39:4–14.3d- More than one person on a motorized bicycle
- 39:4– 41- Driving through safety zone
- 39:4–55- Improper action or omission on grades and curves
- 39:4–66.1- Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway
- 39:4–66.2- Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal
- 39:4–71- Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk
- 39:4–82.1- Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider
- 39:4–85- Improper passing on right or off roadway
- 39:4–85.1- Wrong way on a one-way street
- 39:4–87- Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle
- 39:4–88- Failure to observe traffic lanes
- 39:4–90.1- Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways
- 39:4–91- Failure to yield to emergency vehicles
- 39:4–122- Failure to stop for police whistle
- 39:4–97a- Destruction of agricultural or recreational property
- 39:4–97.1- Slow speed blocking traffic
- 39:4–119- Failure to stop at flashing red signal
- 39:4–124- Improper turn from approved turning course
- 39:4–127- Improper backing or turning in street
- 39:4–127.1- Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing